NameDrop feature on iPhones misrepresented in the US
The NameDrop feature, introduced to iPhone users with iOS 17, allows for easy information exchange between two iPhones. However, the feature appears to have been misunderstood.
With the release of iOS 17 by Apple in recent months, the NameDrop feature was introduced to iPhone users. This allows for file transfers when two iPhones are brought together, provided the necessary settings are enabled. However, there seems to have been some misunderstanding, as some websites and police departments in the US are issuing warnings as if the feature activates in a different way.
NAMEDROP FEATURE DOES NOT WORK WITHOUT CONSENT
For the NameDrop feature offered by Apple to be used, it must be enabled on both iPhones. When two iPhones are held close to each other, users must provide consent for the screen locks to be unlocked and the transfer to begin. However, the warnings being issued claim that all information can be transferred to another phone simply by bringing iPhones close together, and that this feature should be turned off.
In other words, a malicious person cannot copy another iPhone user's information simply by turning on this feature and approaching them. The system does not work that way.
Nevertheless, those who do not wish to use this feature can turn it off by going to Settings > General > AirDrop > Bringing Devices Together and toggling it off.
News Source: 12punto
Related News
Most Read
How the ISIS terrorist preparing for an attack in Istanbul was neutralized
Apple's foldable phone price tag to set a new record
YÖK launches investigation into 23 foundation higher education institutions
Two-day sale and collateral traffic in Gökçek family allegations
Another bankruptcy in the construction sector
Detention warrants for 31 lawyers, searches at 39 offices
Massive compensation claim against Acun Ilıcalı
Journalist Oya Lale Arslan detained
Footage emerges of Berhan Şimşek allegedly assaulting his former partner
New seizure order in the Süleymancılar investigation